Referee of the year admits that he should have penalised Owen Farrell’s tackle

first_imgTuesday Nov 27, 2018 Referee of the year admits that he should have penalised Owen Farrell’s tackle Australian referee Angus Gardner has told Sky Sports that he should have penalised Owen Farrell for the no-arms tackle he made on Andre Esterhuizen in the closing seconds of the England vs South Africa Test match three weeks ago.ADVERTISEMENTThe 34-year-old’s decision denied the Springboks a penalty and a shot at goal, which had they landed, would have won them a tight Test match at Twickenham. It has naturally been a huge topic of debate.Gardner was awarded Referee of the Year at the World Rugby Awards in Monaco a few days back. He said there that if he could turn back the clock, he would change his decision.“I think in hindsight now, having discussed it with some other referees… I think the general consensus would be that a penalty was probably the outcome there that should have been given,” Gardner told Rupert Cox on the Will Greenwood podcast.“I think we need to see a wrap with both arms, and I think in hindsight – although he got pinned – there wasn’t a big enough wrap from both arms, really. There was a wrap with one arm, but there wasn’t a wrap with the other arm.”Explaining why he saw it the way he did, he said: “The angles that I saw with the TMO, which were the head-on angles, showed a clear wrap of the front arm, but it was the back arm which got pinned.“Of the angles that I was showed in the stadium at the time, that seemed to me to be enough of a wrap for me to constitute a legal tackle.ADVERTISEMENT“It was never high, and so all we were looking at was the tackle technique. The collision itself also kind of swayed my decision because it was a big rugby collision, and we see these hits in the game.WATCH: FARRELL MAKES ANOTHER CONTROVERSIAL BIG HIT“We don’t always get it right, and we understand that there are going to be decisions that are going to heavily influence the game. At this level the expectation is that we do get it right – and that’s what we’re striving to achieve – but we don’t always.“I suppose that’s the best way, just to be honest about it. If I made a mistake, I’ve got to put my hand up and say I was wrong, and hopefully if I see that again then I’ll know where I’m heading.”ADVERTISEMENTWhile Gardner is a highly respected official, it is somewhat ironic that he was named the best referee in the world following one of the most debated incidents of the year.credit: worldrugby/skysports Posted By: rugbydump Share Send Thanks Sorry there has been an error News , See it to Believe it Related Articles 25 WEEKS AGO Exeter vs Toulouse is off as a number of… 25 WEEKS AGO Danny Cipriani leaves Gloucester with immediate… 25 WEEKS AGO ‘Aphiwe can’t believe it. We were starting… From the WebThis Video Will Soon Be Banned. Watch Before It’s DeletedSecrets RevealedYou Won’t Believe What the World’s Most Beautiful Girl Looks Like TodayNueeyUrologists Stunned: Forget the Blue Pill, This “Fixes” Your EDSmart Life ReportsIf You Have Ringing Ears Do This Immediately (Ends Tinnitus)Healthier LivingDoctors Stunned: This Removes Wrinkles Like Crazy! (Try Tonight)Smart Life Reports30+ Everyday Items with a Secret Hidden PurposeNueeyThe content you see here is paid for by the advertiser or content provider whose link you click on, and is recommended to you by Revcontent. As the leading platform for native advertising and content recommendation, Revcontent uses interest based targeting to select content that we think will be of particular interest to you. We encourage you to view your opt out options in Revcontent’s Privacy PolicyWant your content to appear on sites like this?Increase Your Engagement Now!Want to report this publisher’s content as misinformation?Submit a ReportGot it, thanks!Remove Content Link?Please choose a reason below:Fake NewsMisleadingNot InterestedOffensiveRepetitiveSubmitCancellast_img read more